He Aratūtahi Pathway

Skills – Kapa Haka

He Aratūtahi Pathway

Manaaki whenua, Manaaki tangata, Haere whakamua – Care for the land, Care for the people, Go forward

Participants can now do any level of the Award – Bronze, Silver or Gold – with a focus on Te Ao Māori and the holistic concept of whanaungatanga, the interconnectedness and interrelationship of all living and non-living things.

The activity achievement requirements remain exactly the same, the difference is that all the sections except Physical Recreation require the participant to utilise Te Ao Māori concepts like Mātauranga and Tikanga in their approach.

Comprehensive list of He Aratūtahi options

Once participants have completed the Award, they will receive a record of their He Aratūtahi journey as well as their formal Award certificate.

He Aratūtahi – Section requirements


Adventurous Journey or Exploration – Get Wild and Explore | Haerenga Mātātoa – Kia Rikarika me te Hōpara

The Adventurous Journey, whether an expedition or exploration, remains unchanged. Journeys may explore iwi land, or trace traditional expeditions for hunting, they may utilise waka or engage in preservation or be explorations of environmental impacts on the whenua.


Physical Recreation – Break a Sweat | Ngā Hākinakina – He Whakeheke Werawera

The requirements are unchanged and remain focused on physical and mental well-being e.g. cycling, badminton, waka ama, cricket, gym.


Skills - Find Your Genius | Ngā Pūkenga – Kitea Ō Pūmanawa

The Skills chosen must have a Te Ao Māori focus eg: Kapa Haka, studying your Whakapapa/genealogy, Taiao (learning about the environment), Māra Huawhenua (learning about food from the nature), Tātai Arorangi (Māori astronomical knowledge), Whakairo (carving), Raranga (Māori weaving), Te Tiriti, Ngā Waka o Aotearoa, Rongoā Māori (traditional Māori healing), Manu Kōrero or Mirimiri.


Voluntary Service – Give Back | Ratonga Tūao – Ngā Mahi Rato

Voluntary Service must have a Te Ao Māori focus with participants engaging in kaitiakitanga and whanaungatanga eg: coaching Mau Rākau or Kī-o-rahi or teaching Pūrākau or Tautohetohe, helping on your Marae or in school, nurturing relationships as a mentor or teacher, volunteering at an event, or working with an environmental community group as a Kaitiaki. 


Gold Residential Project – Leave Your Comfort Zone | Kaupapa Kāinga – Kia Waewae Kai Kapua

This section should have a Te Ao Māori focus where possible eg: working on a conservation project, spending time on a Marae, Identifying historical Aotearoa locations.

Central Plateau

How to sign up to the He Aratūtahi Journey

When signing up to any level of the Award on the Online Record Book (ORB), you will now answer a question – Is this a He Aratūtahi Journey? Simply answer YES if you’re taking up the challenge to incorporate TE AO in your journey. It is then YOUR responsibility to ensure your Voluntary Service, Skills, and Adventurous Journey (plus Gold Residential when applicable) fit the criteria for this pathway.

Once your registration is approved, you will be sent an email to confirm your commitment to this pathway. Make sure you keep an eye out for this email and click yes to confirm or no if you’ve changed your mind.

Sign up here

In August of 2022, the National Māori Authority and The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award Aotearoa New Zealand – Hillary Award ( the Award) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU).

The Award and National Māori Authority agreed to work together in a spirit of partnership maintaining the integrity and policies and requirements in achieving their visions of:

The Award – to offer all young people (from every cultural and socioeconomic background) the chance to challenge their individual abilities in life-transforming ways that build confidence, resilience, and self-esteem, and improve study and employment prospects.

National Māori Authority – to contribute to the development of young people in achieving their full physical, intellectual, emotional, social and spiritual potentials as individuals, responsible citizens and members of their local, national and international communities.

We are proud to be working together for the future of the Award programme.