skip to main content


Silver is the second level of the Award, and takes a minimum of 6 months to complete.

You can start your Silver Award as soon as you’ve completed your Bronze, or from the age of 15 if you are doing an Award for the first time.

There are three specific sections—Service, Skills and Physical Recreation—that you'll choose your activities from, plus an Adventurous Journey to complete.

The table below gives you a good idea of what time is involved for each section, but bear in mind that if you're already playing a sport, learning a skill (e.g. learning to drive or play a musical instrument), or helping others in your community, that time may count towards your required hours:

Download the Guide for Silver Participants to find out more.

Not sure if your school runs the Award, or no longer at school?

  Find out where you can do your Award!
Original generation time 0.6204 seconds.

+ Text Size -
Original generation time 1.0034 seconds. Cache Loaded in: 0.0004 seconds.