skip to main content

Te Kākāriki Award | Green Award

Te Kākāriki Award can be achieved doing any level of the Award - Bronze, Silver or Gold - with an environmental and sustainable focus.

The activity ach

ievement requirements remain exactly the same for Te Kākāriki Award. The difference is that three of the main sections should have an environmental focus -


Voluntary Service – with volunteer service with an environmental or sustainable focus  eg: Forest and Bird planting days, helping in an eco-sanctuary, helping with beach cleanups

Skills – the skills chosen will echo an environmental or sustainable focus eg: learning how to make eco-products, learning native plant or bird identification

Adventurous Journey or Exploration – the adventurous journey remains unchanged, all key conservation principles should be adhered to eg: Leave No Trace

Physical Recreation – the requirements are unchanged and remain focused on physical and mental well-being

Residential Project - this section should have an environmental focus  eg: working on a conservation project


Jamie Beaton, founder of Crimson Education, speaks in support of Te Kākāriki Award -


Award participant Madison doing her bit to help keep Aotearoa beautiful -

"Hi! I got to have cake with the mayor of New Plymouth because he saw a photo on Facebook of my cousin and I with all of the rubbish we picked up on just one road in New Plymouth! I decided to pick up rubbish for my service and I thought that it would be great way to give back to the community" - Madison


+ Text Size -
Original generation time 3.7516 seconds.